1. Home
  2. Options
  3. What to copy
  4. Post/page elements to copy

Post/page elements to copy

Title
If the option is disabled, and the fields Title prefix and Title suffix are empty, the title will be set as Untitled.
Date
If the option is disabled, the post’s creation date and time will be set to the current ones.
Status
This option is relevant only using the Clone link or the Clone bulk action.

If the option is disabled, the copy will be saved as draft.

If the option is enabled, the original status is publish or future but the user doesn’t have the publish_posts/publish_pages capability, the status is set to pending, so that users who are not allowed can’t publish a post just by cloning and editing another one.

Slug
If the option is disabled, the copy will have a slug (permalink) automatically generated from its title.

If the option is enabled, the copy will have the same slug (permalink) of the original post, bar a closing number automatically chosen by WP to make sure the slug is unique.

Beware: even when using [Copy to a] New Draft, if the option is set the slug will be copied and will not be recalculated when the post is published, even if the title has changed. For this reason, the option is unchecked by default since version 3.2.2.

Excerpt - Content
For these elements, the options are self-explaining: if they are enabled, the corresponding element is copied, otherwise it is not.
Featured Image
If the options is enabled, the copy keeps the featured image of the original post. This usually means that the image is not cloned, but simply set as the featured image of both post (and it could be for many others). This changes if the option Attachments is enabled (see below).
Template - Format
For these elements, the options are self-explaining: if they are enabled, the corresponding element is copied, otherwise it is not.
Author
This option is relevant only if the user performing the copy action has the edit_others_posts/edit_others_pages capability, just like it’s needed to change the author of a post.

If the option is not enabled, or if the user doesn’t have the right capability, the author of the copy is set as the current user.

Password
If the option is enabled, and a password is set for the original post, the password is copied.

As of version 3.1.2 of Duplicate Post, the password is copied regardless of the user and his/her capabilities, so be careful because users can learn other users’ passwords by copying their protected posts.

Attachments
If the option is enabled, every media file attached to the original post is copied and attached to the copy. This means that for every attachment, both the physical file and the entry in the media library are copied. If the featured image is attached, it is copied (both the file and the media library entry), and the featured image of the cloned post is set to the copy.

Usually this options isn’t very helpful, because the media embedded in post content or linked via custom fields by plugins should be preserved by default, so it should be left disabled unless you need it for some hack.

Children
If the option is enabled, cloning a page copies also all its child pages and descendants (in other words the whole page tree under the original page).

While attachments are technically children of the post they are linked to, they are excluded from this option as they have their own (see above).

Be careful when cloning the root page of a tree: if it has many pages there’s a chance the operation can take a long time, even more than the timeout set in your web server configuration (max_execution_time).

Comments
If the option is enabled, the whole comment tree will be cloned and associated to the copy. If the Date option is enabled (see above), the comments’ timestamps will be preserved, otherwise they will be set to the current time.

Pingbacks and trackbacks, which are technically comments, are not copied.

Menu Order
If the option is enabled, the menu order of the original is preserved in the copy (optionally increased by the value of the option Increase menu order by). Otherwise the menu order of the copy is set to zero.